IPL Purple Cap | Highest Wicket Takers in Indian Premier League 2017

Here I am back with interesting topic IPL Purple Cap Holders list Most Wickets taking bowlers eligible to this reward. Find your favorite IPL Top Bowlers list who has taken Highest Wickets in Indian Premier League seasons. Best Bowlers who picked up maximum wickets in IPL tournament with impressive bowling for their teams awarded with Purple Cap. The winner will be announced at the end of the league but till then, they keep circulating among the highest wicket-taker. IPL is a great platform to young Indian cricket players to prove them self, so every cricket wants to show their best performance. Just follow my blog post you can find all about the Purple Cap winners list.

Highest Wicket Takers in IPL Purple Cap Winners List

IPL Purple Cap Winner

IPL initiated and started by BCCI in 2008 is held every year in the month of April to May. Among various award given to the best player for their performance in the tournament, one of it Purple Cap is given to the highest wicket taker as the bowler of the year. So the Highest Wicket taker bowler in that season of Indian premium league is awarded by this cap and the bowler keep wearing it for the complete season.

Till now 9 seasons have been played and now it’s time for new season. IPL 10 has started from 5th April 2017 and the final will be played on 21st May 2017. Here are the winners of Purple cap of all IPL seasons.

Highest Wicket Takers in Indian Premier League

  • 2008 – Sohail Tanvir, Rajasthan Royals
    22 wickets at 12.09
  • 2009 – RP Singh, Deccan Chargers
    23 wickets at 18.13
  • 2010 – Pragyan Ojha, Deccan Chargers
    21 wickets at 20.42
  • 2011 – Lasith Malinga, Mumbai Indians
    28 wickets at 13.39
  • 2012 – Morne Morkel, Delhi Daredevils
    25 wickets at 18.12
  • 2013 – Dwayne Bravo, Chennai Super Kings
    32 wickets at 15.53
  • 2014 – Mohit Sharma, Chennai Super Kings
    23 wickets at 19.65
  • 2015 – Dwayne Bravo, Chennai Super Kings
    26 wickets at 16.38
  • 2016 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sunrisers Hyderabad
    23 wickets at 21.30

With the beginning of T20, it seems that there is no place for bowlers anymore in cricket. Batsmen rule in this game of hit vs ball, where bowlers get hit and hammered without sorrow. However, bowlers hold a positive purpose which makes them walk back and start again. After IPL came bowler got special preference and a special award for them That is “Purple Cap” holder is the highest number of wickets taken in the tournament.

Leave a Reply